设立离岸公司:简介

特加商务咨询协助国际客户设立离岸公司。结构合理的离岸公司将使您享有多项好处,包括税收优惠、资产保护、使用全球银行业务以及在全球扩展业务的机会。确保您的离岸公司符合国际法规,以便您可以合法地开展日常业务运营。






    成立离岸公司的终极指南

    • 已协助多个客户在世界各地设立离岸公司。近年来,由于引入了额外的经济物质以及国际银行更严格的入职要求,建立最佳离岸结构变得越来越具有挑战性。

    • 尽管许多人错误地认为离岸公司仅用于洗钱和逃税,但许多全球企业仍在成立离岸公司以获取多重利益。

    • 结构合理的离岸公司是许多全球公司在构建业务时的最佳解决方案。努力协助我们的所有客户决定具有良好银行设施的最佳离岸公司结构,并确保公司始终遵守全球税收法规。



    什么是离岸公司?

    • 离岸公司是在您的主要业务经营所在国家/地区以外合法注册的实体。



    • 例如,如果您是美国居民并在新加坡注册了一家公司,那么这家新加坡公司就是一家离岸公司。谷歌、苹果、星巴克等多家全球企业注册了多家离岸公司,以促进全球贸易并有效减少税收义务。



    • 最广为人知的案例之一是  2018 年的亚马逊。尽管 2018 年的利润为 112 亿美元,但该公司没有缴纳联邦税。 


    受欢迎的离岸公司类型

    离岸公司类型

    离岸公司主要分为三种类型:传统避税天堂、合法免税管辖区和零税收管辖区。这三种类型的离岸公司让您在能够合法开展业务的同时享受最低的税收。在大多数情况下,公司成立所需的时间很短,您可以期望在一周内获得公司编号。

    传统避税天堂

    • 尽管被贴上避税天堂的标签,但开曼群岛、英属维尔京群岛、 塞舌尔 和伯利兹国际商业公司 (IBC) 等国家仍然是热门选择。这是因为这些司法管辖区允许您的企业免征企业所得税。  
    • 多年来,大量商人涌入这些避税天堂以满足他们的离岸需求。此外,这些国家中的大多数不要求公司提交年度回报并在公共登记册中披露董事和股东。



    • 尽管具备成为完美离岸解决方案所需的所有特征,但该行业已经注意到避税天堂的数量正在减少。由于没有公司税率和零年度报告要求,全球银行不愿意从这些传统的避税天堂引进公司。

    • 例如,如果您计划在新加坡开设银行账户的 BVI 公司,目前几乎不可能。更严格的入职要求意味着您将无法在新加坡或香港或瑞士的信誉良好的银行开展业务,并且您的资产可能会被冻结。



    • 除了开设企业银行账户的挑战之外,许多传统的避税天堂现在还受到额外的经济实质要求的约束。他们现在预计将实施立法改革,以确保采取适当措施防止滥用税收。否则将受到国际当局的黑名单或制裁。

    • 例如,欧盟宣布将开曼群岛(以及其他三个司法管辖区)添加到欧盟非合作司法管辖区列表中以用于税收目的。在被欧盟列入黑名单后,开曼群岛实体现在将受到某些措施的约束,这些措施通常会阻止公司从欧洲可持续发展基金或欧洲战略投资基金获得欧盟资金。



    • 在考虑您注册离岸公司的下一个目的地时,建议您考虑这些不利的权衡,并考虑替代的离岸解决方案,例如合法免税管辖区或零税管辖区。从长远来看,传统的避税天堂正在受到打击,以防止滥用税收。


    合法免税的司法管辖区

    • 如果您的业务涉及货物贸易,特加商务咨询会建议您考虑成立新加坡离岸公司或香港离岸公司。关于注册离岸公司究竟是新加坡还是香港更好的选择,一直存在争议。事实上,两者都是绝佳的选择,它们提供多种优势,包括优惠的税收优惠、世界一流的银行设施和稳定的商业环境。此外,两个司法管辖区都没有最低股本要求。



    • 尽管公司税为零,但这些司法管辖区并未被贴上避税天堂的标签,因为这些公司需要遵守高水平的问责制、尽职调查和报告要求。因此,信誉良好的全球银行绝对愿意在开设企业银行账户或提供银行贷款方面开展业务。



    • 在这些司法管辖区成立离岸公司非常简单,特加商务咨询可以在 2 个工作日内注册您的合法免税公司。


    零税管辖区

    • 世界上最受欢迎的零税管辖区之一是阿拉伯联合酋长国 (UAE)。通过成立 迪拜离岸公司,您无需缴纳任何公司税,因为 没有企业税。因此,法律允许您不为您的迪拜离岸公司缴纳公司税。  
    • 此外,迪拜不被视为传统的避税天堂,受到银行、客户、供应商和投资者的欢迎。但是,请注意,迪拜离岸公司不得在阿联酋境内开展业务,也不得拥有任何当地物质,例如当地员工或办公场所。



    • 在零税收管辖区建立公司的权衡是昂贵的公司成立费用。此外,根据您的业务活动,您必须满足不同的股本要求。如果您的业务主要与来自中东和非洲的客户或供应商打交道,特加商务咨询会建议您注册一家迪拜离岸公司。否则,我们将建议您考虑上述合法免税解决方案。


    离岸公司如何为不同类型的企业运作?

    离岸公司解决方案应根据每个企业的个人需求和长期目标进行定制。要考虑的最重要因素是该离岸公司的预期业务活动类型。已编制了离岸业务成立的最受欢迎的业务线。

    进出口

    • 从事进出口业务的贸易公司可以在不同的司法管辖区注册一家离岸公司以获得额外的利润。例如,您可以向客户开具发票并通过离岸公司向供应商付款。作为交换,供应商将直接将货物运送给客户。



    • 因此,您将能够减少您的公司纳税义务,同时最大限度地减少您在整个工作过程中的参与。如果您的业务是在全球范围内进出口,特加商务咨询会建议您考虑在合法免税的国家设立离岸公司。


    投资

    • 如果您想在多个国家进行投资,投资者可能希望注册一家离岸公司。



    • 在一些国家,中央银行和地方政府当局实行严格的外汇管制。在投资者将有限的资金转出国外之前,需要完成多项耗时的程序和文书工作。



    • 对于许多投资者而言,自由转移资金的能力是进行有利可图的投资的关键。通过设立离岸公司并开设离岸银行账户,这些最初资金被困和受限的投资者现在可以自由地将资金移入和移出不同国家的不同投资。
    • 众所周知,投资者通过资本利得赚取收益,而这种利润需要缴纳资本利得税。在某些司法管辖区,离岸公司无需缴纳资本利得税,这让投资者可以享受更高的利润。


    控股公司

    • 对于许多企业来说,离岸控股公司应该是一个熟悉的术语,尤其是对管理团队而言。控股公司用于控制通常位于多个国家的子公司。



    • 通过在离岸司法管辖区设立控股公司,企业可以在将资金从一家子公司转移到控股公司时享受税收优惠。



    • 通过选择最佳的离岸公司结构,控股公司可以积累资金并重新投资于其他子公司,而无需缴纳任何预扣税、公司税或资本利得税。


    个人控股公司

    • 高净值人士可选择设立个人离岸控股公司,持有不同国家的资产。



    • 您只需为此个人控股公司聘请法律团队和会计团队,而不是在每个国家都聘请一个团队。因此,您将能够享受较低的管理费用。



    •   此外,大多数离岸司法管辖区不公布股东和最终实益拥有人的信息。这反过来又允许高净值人士在公众面前保持低调。


    产权公司

    • 许多投资者注册离岸公司来持有他们的财产。通过这样做,您将能够减少遗产税和资本收益。这是因为该财产归公司所有,如果您决定出售该财产,您可以通过转让公司股份来实现。


    如何设立离岸公司?

    • 根据您的公司结构,特加商务咨询将推荐最高效的业务实体。例如在新加坡,您将注册一家非居民有限责任公司。另一方面,在 塞舌尔,您将注册一家国际商业公司 (IBC)。 

    • 公司注册成功后,下一步就是 开立企业银行账户。特加商务咨询将推荐愿意加入您的业务的顶级银行。银行会考虑的一些因素包括您的客户和供应商的位置、董事和股东的国籍以及商业活动的类型。一些银行不登上控股公司,而另一些银行一般不登上离岸公司。在企业银行开户方面经验丰富,将在 5 周内完成。 
    • 离岸业务组建最重要的方面是保持合规和合法开展业务。特加商务咨询会提醒您年度报告要求并协助您及时完成这些要求。


    设立离岸公司的优势

    税收优化

    • 离岸公司的第一个优势绝对是税收优化。在一些国家,个人收入或企业所得税的税率可能非常高。因此,商人正在寻找实用的解决方案来优化他们的纳税义务,而不是缴纳相当于公司利润一半的税款。



    • 尽管媒体大肆宣传离岸公司是一种多层次结构,可以非法避税和洗钱,但实际上并非如此。离岸公司实际上是企业在国内和国际上合法减少应纳税额的一种简单实用的解决方案。这将为公司腾出更多资金进行再投资并获得更高的利润。



    • 特加商务咨询将帮助您根据您的业务需求和长期目标正确构建离岸业务,同时遵守国际税收法规。


    国际业务拓展

    • 一些国家的公司成立过程复杂且耗时。通过选择设立离岸公司并开设离岸银行账户,您将能够在全球范围内开展业务。这与无需在仓库中保留库存或供应品的在线业务相关。



    • 此外,注册离岸公司很快,不需要您满足很多要求。



    • 例如,将资金转出柬埔寨具有挑战性。柬埔寨商人可以选择在新加坡注册离岸公司,并在香港开设企业银行账户向亚洲供应商付款,并在德国开设另一个企业银行账户以接收欧洲客户的资金。这使他的业务得以发展,而不受复杂的国内限制。


    资产保护

    • 如果不幸遭遇诉讼或离婚,离岸控股公司将保护您的财富。离岸公司持有的资产将依法另行认定。在大多数诉讼或离婚案件中,您将依法承担个人责任。通过将这些资产转移到离岸控股公司,它们将受到保护并且遥不可及。此外,大多数离岸司法管辖区允许公司所有者保持匿名,并且无法在公共登记册中进行搜索。



    • 对于居住在政治不稳定国家的个人,您不妨考虑设立一家离岸控股公司来保护您的资产。经济市场波动剧烈,波动迅速。通过在另一个受不同市场力量和法规约束的司法管辖区设立公司,您可以分散应对快速通胀、经济崩溃或政治不稳定的风险。


    降低业务成本

    • 在大多数离岸司法管辖区开展业务通常会降低业务运营成本。公司注册配套服务通常包括公司注册、公司秘书、注册地址和企业银行开户。在某些情况下,您可能需要代理董事或代理股东服务以及邮件转发服务。这些服务通常是负担得起的,可以由一家咨询公司提供,例如。 



    • 另一方面,印度尼西亚和泰国等监管严格的国家要求任命当地董事和股东以及外国投资许可证,这可能需要数月才能获得批准。因此,为您的海外公司成立设立离岸公司绝对可以节省成本。


    进入离岸银行业务

    • 通过利用离岸公司的这一优势,企业现在可以开设离岸企业银行账户。这使您可以快速接收和发送外币,同时最大限度地降低交易费用。通过使用离岸银行业务,您的企业将享受更少的付款交易延迟和更低的交易成本。



    • 对于在线业务,您可以考虑为离岸公司开设一个商户账户,以接收来自全球客户的信用卡付款。在某些国家/地区,国内银行可能无法提供此服务。



    • 此外,您将能够开设全球经纪账户以在全球证券交易所交易证券。部分国内银行可能不提供此项服务。


    设立离岸公司的弊端

    声誉

    • 为传统税收人士开设企业银行账户变得越来越具有挑战性。企业通常会受到银行合规团队加强的尽职调查检查,从而导致开户过程出现延误。此外,与新加坡的离岸公司相比,客户和供应商不太愿意与伯利兹国际商业公司 (IBC) 合作。


    离岸公司的新经济实质要求

    • 全球税务机关正在打击传统的避税天堂,以阻止滥用税收。因此,许多离岸司法管辖区需要实施额外的经济实质。



    • 例如,从2020 年1月1' 日起,所有从事“相关活动”的英属维尔京群岛 (BVI) 公司都必须任命当地活跃董事、租用当地实体办公室并向政府提交年度报告。这适用于控股公司、贸易公司、基金管理公司、航运公司和银行/保险公司。 
    • 也就是说,建议您在更有信誉的司法管辖区设立离岸公司,例如新加坡、香港、英国、爱尔兰、列支敦士登或阿联酋。


    常见问题

    谁都可以设立离岸公司呢?

    • 离岸公司在过去几年中越来越受欢迎。这得益于税收优化、资产保护、全球业务扩张和海外银行业务准入等多重优势。离岸公司既适合个人,也适合企业。

    离岸公司如何运作?

    • 如果一家公司在其注册成立的司法管辖区内具有最低限度的经济实质,则该公司被视为离岸公司。例如,在新加坡境外开展正常合法商业活动的新加坡有限责任公司被视为离岸公司。商人选择注册离岸实体,因为如果他们将贸易限制在其注册所在司法管辖区的边界之外,他们可能会享受免税。

    开离岸公司违法吗?

    • 不,注册离岸公司并不违法。据媒体报道,许多离岸公司被用于逃税、避税和骗税。对于我们所有的客户,利乐顾问将就您的个人和公司税务义务向您提供建议。这是为了确保您始终遵守国际税收义务。

    设立离岸公司的最佳地点在哪里?

      • 这最终取决于贵公司的长期业务目标。对于大多数类型的企业,我们的主要建议一直是新加坡或 香港离岸公司。通过支付最少量的公司税或预扣税,您可以享受更好的银行服务。如果您是一家刚起步的小公司,资金有限,那么传统的避税天堂可能更合适,因为没有会计、税收或股本要求。
      • 现在联系我们 了解更多关于如何设立离岸公司的信息。我们的专家团队将在接下来的 24 小时内回复。






      关注我们

      地址

      22 Sin Ming Lane #06-76 Midview City, Singapore 573969

      ©2010-2022 Tetra Global Consultants. All rights reserved.

      • 联系我们

        联系我们

      • WhatsApp

Set up offshore company: Introduction

Tetra Consultants assists our international clients to set up offshore company. Properly structured, an offshore company will allow you to enjoy multiple benefits including tax advantages, asset protection, access to global banking and opportunities to expand your business globally. Tetra Consultants ensures your offshore company is compliant with international regulations so you can legally conduct your everyday business operations.

https://www.tetraconsultants.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/ff0c7386e67e7d715d15d21b3dd53c04.1q80fmjpgcropentropycstinysrgbw1080fitmaxixideyjhchbfawqiojm4otczfq.jpg

Contact Us

Ultimate guide to set up offshore company

  • Tetra Consultants has assisted multiple clients to set up offshore company all over the world. In recent years, it has been increasingly challenging to set up an optimum offshore structure due to additional economic substances introduced as well as stricter onboarding requirements from international banks.
  • Despite many people falsely assuming that offshore companies are only used for money laundering and tax evasion, many global businesses are still setting up offshore companies to reap the multiple benefits available.
  • Properly structured, an offshore company is an optimum solution for many global companies while structuring their businesses. Tetra Consultants strive to assist all our clients to decide on the best offshore company structure with good banking facilities and ensuring that the companies remain compliant with global tax regulations.

What is an offshore company?

  • An offshore company is an entity that is legally registered outside the country where your main business operation in conducted.
  • For example, if you are a resident in the USA and register a company in Singapore, this Singapore company is an offshore company. Many global businesses such as Google, Apple and Starbucks registered multiple offshore companies to facilitate global trading and effectively reduce tax obligations.
  • One of the most popular case studies is Amazon in 2018. The company paid no federal taxes despite recording a profit of US$11.2 billion in 2018.

Popular types of offshore companies

types of offshore companies

There are three main types of offshore companies: traditional tax havens, legally tax-exempt jurisdictions and zero-tax jurisdictions. These three types of offshore companies allow you to enjoy minimal taxes while being able to legally conduct business. In most cases, the time required for company formation is short and you can expect to secure company numbers within one week.

Traditional tax haven

  • Despite being labeled as tax havens, countries such as the Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, Seychelles and Belize International Business Companies (IBC) remain popular choices. This is due to the fact that these jurisdictions allow your businesses to be freed of corporate income taxes.
  • Over the years, large numbers of businessmen flocked to these tax havens to satisfy their offshore needs. In addition, most of these countries do not require the companies to file annual returns and disclose directors and shareholders in the public register.
  • Despite having all the traits required to be the perfect offshore solution, the industry has noticed dwindling numbers of tax havens incorporated. By having no corporate tax rates and zero annual reporting requirements, global banks are not willing to onboard companies from these traditional tax havens.
  • For example, if you are planning to have a BVI company with Singapore bank account, it is close to impossible for now. Stricter onboarding requirements mean that you will not be able to board your business with reputable banks in Singapore or Hong Kong or Switzerland and your assets may be frozen.
  • In addition to the challenge of opening corporate bank accounts, many traditional tax havens are now subject to additional economic substance requirements. They are now expected to implement legislative reforms to ensure appropriate measures are in place to prevent tax abuse. Failure to do so will be subject to blacklist or sanctions from international authorities.
  • For example, EU announced that Cayman Islands (along with three other jurisdictions) are added to EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes. After being blacklisted by EU, Cayman Islands entities will now be subjected to certain measures that will generally prevent firms to access to EU funding from the European Fund for Sustainable Development or the European Fund for Strategic Investments.
  • While considering your next destination to register offshore corporation, Tetra Consultants recommends you to take into account these negative trade-offs and consider alternative offshore solutions such as legally tax-exempt jurisdictions or zero-tax jurisdictions. In the long run, traditional tax havens are being clamped down to prevent tax abuse.

Legally tax-exempt jurisdictions

  • If your business deals with the trading of goods, Tetra Consultants will recommend you to consider setting up a Singapore offshore company or a Hong Kong offshore company. There has always been a debate as to whether Singapore or Hong Kong is a better choice to register offshore company. In fact, both are excellent options and they offer multiple advantages including favorable tax benefits, world-class banking facilities and a stable business environment. In addition, there are no minimum share capital requirements in both jurisdictions.
  • Despite having zero corporate taxes, these jurisdictions are not labeled as tax havens because the companies are subject to a high level of accountability, due diligence and reporting requirements. As such, reputable global banks are definitely willing to do business in terms of opening corporate bank accounts or providing bank loans.
  • Setting up offshore companies in these jurisdictions is straightforward and Tetra Consultants can register your legally tax-exempt companies within 2 business days.

Zero-tax jurisdictions

  • One of the most popular zero-tax jurisdictions in the world is the United Arab Emirates (UAE). By setting up a Dubai offshore company, you will not be required to pay any corporate taxes because there are no corporate taxes. As such, you are legally allowed to not pay corporate taxes for your Dubai offshore company.
  • In addition, Dubai is not considered a traditional tax haven and is welcomed by banks, customers, suppliers and investors. However, do note that Dubai offshore companies are not allowed to do business within the UAE nor have any local substances such as local employees or office space.
  • The trade-off for establishing a company in a zero-tax jurisdiction is the costlier company formation fees. In addition, depending on your business activity, you will have to meet the different share capital requirements. Tetra Consultants will recommend you register a Dubai offshore company if your business mainly deals with customers or suppliers from the Middle East and Africa. Otherwise, we will recommend you to consider legally tax-exempt solutions as mentioned above.

How do offshore companies work for different types of businesses?

An offshore company solution should be tailored accordingly to each business’s individual needs and long-term goals. The most important factor to consider is the type of intended business activity of this offshore corporation. Tetra Consultants has compiled the most popular lines of businesses for offshore business set up.

advantages of offshore company

Import and export

  • Trading companies dealing with import and export can register an offshore company in a different jurisdiction for additional profits. For example, you can issue invoices to customers and make payments to suppliers via the offshore corporation. In exchange, the supplier will ship the goods directly to the customers.
  • As such, you will be able to reduce your corporate tax obligations while minimizing your involvement throughout the work process. If your business is importing and exporting on a global scale, Tetra Consultants will recommend you to consider setting up offshore companies in legally tax-exempt countries.

Investment

  • Investors may wish to register an offshore company if you are looking to invest in multiple countries.
  • In some countries, there are strict foreign exchange controls imposed by the Central Bank and local government authorities. There are multiple time-consuming procedures and paperwork to be completed before investors can transfer a limited amount of money out of the country.
  • For many investors, the ability to move funds freely is the key to making a profitable investment. By setting up a company offshore and opening an offshore bank account, these investors whose funds were initially trapped and limited, are now able to freely move funds in and out of different investments in different countries.
  • As we know, investors earn through capital gains and this profit will be subject to capital gains tax. In some jurisdictions, offshore companies are subject to no capital gain tax and this allows investors to enjoy higher profits.

Holding company

  • For many businesses, an offshore holding company should be a familiar term, especially to the management team. A holding company is used to control subsidiaries which are usually located in multiple countries.
  • By setting up the holding company in an offshore jurisdiction, businesses are able to enjoy tax benefits when moving money from one subsidiary to the holding company.
  • By choosing the best offshore company structure, the holding company can build up the funds and re-invest into other subsidiaries without suffering any withholding taxes, corporate taxes or capital gains taxes.

Personal holding company

  • High net-worth individuals may choose to set up a personal offshore holding company to hold their assets in different countries.
  • You will only be required to engage a legal team and accounting team for this personal holding company instead of engaging one in every individual country. Consequently, you will be able to enjoy lower administrative fees.
  •  In addition, most offshore jurisdictions do not publish information of the shareholders and Ultimate Beneficial Owners. This in turn allows the high net-worth individuals to keep a low profile from the public regarding their net worth.

Property ownership company

  • Many investors register offshore companies to hold their properties. By doing so, you will be able to reduce inheritance tax and capital gains. This is because the property is owned by the company and in the event you decide to sell the property, you can do so by transferring the company shares.

How to set up an offshore company?

how to register an offshore company

  • Depending on your company structure, Tetra Consultants will recommend the most efficient business entity. For example in Singapore, you will register a non-resident limited liability company. On the other hand in Seychelles, you will register an International Business Company (IBC).
  • After the company is successfully registered, the next step will be to open your corporate bank account. Tetra Consultants will recommend the top banks that are willing to board your business. Some factors that the banks will take into consideration include the location of your customers and suppliers, the nationalities of directors and shareholders as well as the type of business activity. Some banks do not board holding companies while others do not board offshore companies generally. Tetra Consultants is experienced in corporate bank account opening and will complete the same within 5 weeks.
  • The most important aspect of offshore business formation is to remain compliant and legally conduct business. Tetra Consultants will remind you of annual reporting requirements and assist in timely completing the same.

Advantages of setting up an offshore company

set up offshore company

Tax optimization

  • The first advantage of offshore company is definitely tax optimization. In some countries, personal income or corporate income tax rates can be extremely high. As such, businessmen are looking for practical solutions to optimize their tax obligations instead of paying taxes amounting to half the company profits.
  • Despite the media hyping offshore companies as a multi-layer structure to illegally avoid tax and conduct money laundering, this is actually not true at all. An offshore company is actually a simple and practical solution for businesses to legally reduce their tax payable domestically and internationally. This will free up more funds for the company to reinvest and achieve higher profits.
  • Tetra Consultants will assist you to properly structure your offshore business according to your business needs and long-term goals while staying compliant with international tax regulations.

International business expansion

  • The company formation process in some countries is complex and time-consuming. By choosing to setup offshore company and opening an offshore bank account, you will be able to conduct business all across the globe. This is especially relatable to online businesses where there is no need to keep inventories or supplies in a warehouse.
  • In addition, registering an offshore company is quick and does not require you to meet many requirements.
  • For example, it is challenging to transfer funds out of Cambodia. A Cambodian businessman may choose to register an offshore company in Singapore and open a corporate bank account in Hong Kong to pay Asian suppliers and another corporate bank account in Germany to receive funds from European customers. This allows his business to grow and not be restricted by complex domestic restrictions.

Asset protection

  • In the unfortunate event that you are going through a lawsuit or divorce, an offshore holding company will protect your wealth. Assets held by the offshore company will be deemed by the law separately. In most lawsuits or divorces, you will be held liable as an individual by the law. By transferring these assets to the offshore holding company, they will be protected and out of reach. In addition, most offshore jurisdictions allow company owners to remain anonymous and not searchable in the public register.
  • For individuals that are residents in politically unstable countries, you may wish to consider setting up an offshore holding company to protect your assets as well. Economic markets are volatile and fluctuate rapidly. By having a company in another jurisdiction subject to different market forces and regulations, you are diversifying your risk against rapid inflation, economic breakdown, or political instability.

Lower business costs

  • Doing business in most offshore jurisdictions will usually result in lower costs of business operations. The company registration package service will usually consist of company registration, company secretary, registered address and corporate bank account opening. In some situations, you may require nominee director or nominee shareholder services as well as mail forwarding services.  These services are usually affordable and can be provided by a single consulting firm such as Tetra Consultants.
  • On the other hand, highly regulated countries such as Indonesia and Thailand require the appointment of local directors and shareholders as well as foreign investment licenses which may take months to be approved. As such, setting up an offshore company for your overseas company formation is definitely cost-saving.

Access to offshore banking

  • By leveraging on this advantage of offshore companies, businesses are now able to open offshore corporate bank accounts. This allows you to swiftly receive and send foreign currencies while minimizing transaction fees. With access to offshore banking, your business will enjoy less delays in payment transactions and lower transaction costs.
  • For online businesses, you can consider opening a merchant account for your offshore company to receive credit card payments from global clients. In some countries, domestic banks may not be able to provide this service.
  • In addition, you will be able to open global brokerage accounts to trade securities on global stock exchanges. This service may not be available in some of the domestic banks.

Disadvantages of setting up an offshore company

disadvantages of offshore company

Reputation

  • It is increasingly challenging to open corporate bank accounts for traditional tax haves. Businesses are usually subject to enhanced due diligence checks by the banks’ compliance team, resulting in delays during the account opening process. In addition, customers and suppliers are less willing to work with Belize International Business Companies (IBC) as compared to an offshore company in Singapore.

New economic substance requirements for offshore companies

  • Global tax authorities are clamping down on traditional tax havens in order to stop tax abuse. As such, many offshore jurisdictions are required to implement additional economic substance.
  • For example from 1st January 2020, all British Virgin Islands (BVI) companies dealing with “relevant activities” are required to appoint local active directors, rent local physical offices and submit annual reports to the government. This applies to holding companies, trading companies, fund management companies, shipping companies and banking/insurance companies.
  • That said, Tetra Consultants recommends you to set up offshore companies in more reputable jurisdictions such as Singapore, Hong Kong, UK, Ireland, Liechtenstein or UAE.

FAQ

Can I set up an offshore company?

  • Yes, offshore companies have increasingly become more popular over the past few years. This is due to the multiple advantages such as tax optimization, asset protection, global business expansion and access to overseas banking. Offshore companies are suitable for both individuals as well as businesses.

How do offshore companies work?

  • A company is regarded as offshore if it has minimal economic substance within the jurisdiction where it is incorporated. For example, a Singapore limited liability company that is conducting normal legal business activities outside of Singapore is considered offshore. Businessmen choose to register offshore entities as they may enjoy tax exemptions if they limit their trade to outside of the borders of the jurisdiction where they are incorporated.

Is it illegal to have an offshore company?

  • No, it is not illegal to register an offshore company. As reported in media, many offshore companies are used for tax evasion, tax avoidance and tax fraud. For all our clients, Tetra Consultants will advise you on your personal and corporate tax obligations. This is to ensure that you remain compliant with international tax obligations.

Where is the best place to set up an offshore company?

  • This ultimately depends on the long-term business goals of your company. For most types of businesses, our primary recommendation has always been a Singapore or Hong Kong offshore company. By paying a minimal amount of corporate or withholding taxes, you are able to enjoy access to better banking facilities. If you are a small company that is just starting out with limited capital, a traditional tax haven may be more suitable as there are not accounting nor tax nor share capital requirements.

Contact us to find out more about how to structure your offshore company. Our team of experts will revert within the next 24 hours.

Popular Links

©2010-2021 Tetra Global Consultants. All rights reserved.

22 Sin Ming Lane #06-76 Midview City, Singapore 573969

Privacy     Blog     Contact Us     Careers