拉脱维亚EMI牌照

特加商务咨询协助国际客户获得拉脱维亚EMI牌照,这是电子货币服务业务所需的。我们的服务包包括拉脱维亚公司注册、商业账户开立、牌照申请(包括咨询服务)、合规审查以及商业计划和内部政策的准备。

公司注册

3 周

当地董事

无需

银行开户

4 周

需要出差?

无需

完美

来自 87 个客户评价






    拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照(电子货币机构)

    在特加商务咨询的帮助下,拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照(电子货币机构)很容易获得。

    在拉脱维亚发行电子货币的每个信用机构都可以注册为电子货币机构或获得 EMI 牌照。注册为电子货币机构将允许您的公司在拉脱维亚境内开展电子货币服务。如果您希望在拉脱维亚境外和欧洲经济区 (EEA) 内提供电子货币服务,例如提供现金存款和取款服务,您必须获得 EMI 牌照。

    拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照简介

    • 2020 年,非现金支付在拉脱维亚的支付额为 1810 亿欧元。尽管支付的总次数有所减少,但非现金支付的总价值正在上升。这凸显了拉脱维亚电子货币的潜力。
    • 所有拥有拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照的电子市场机构均受 金融和资本市场委员会 并受《支付服务和电子货币法》的规定管辖。
    • 拉脱维亚电子货币机构的监管也符合欧盟电子货币指令 (EMD)。
    • 只有在拉脱维亚或欧盟成员国获得牌照的电子市场机构才能发行电子货币。这是为了防止未按照金融和资本市场委员会制定的法律法规发行的电子货币的流通。
    • 如果您希望向欧洲市场提供电子货币服务,特加商务咨询建议您获得拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照。

    什么时候需要拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照?

    • 任何发行或希望发行电子货币的公司都需要申请电子货币机构 (EMI) 牌照。
      • 以电子方式存储货币价值(例如通过智能卡、计算机),
      • 由对发行人的债权代表。
      • 被电子货币持有人检索以进行支付,
      • 可用于支付由非电子货币发行人的自然人或法人出售的商品和服务。
    • 一般来说,发行电子货币的公司需要从金融和资本市场委员会获得 EMI 牌照。拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照将允许电子货币机构执行以下活动:
      • 发行电子货币
      • 提供支付服务
      • 提供与电子货币发行相关的服务
      • 促进支付系统的运行
      • 依照有关法律法规开展其他经营活动
    • 但是,在某些情况下,公司可能不需要 EMI 牌照来提供电子货币服务。相反,公司可以选择通过金融和资本市场委员会获得注册电子货币机构的地位。注册的电子货币机构只需满足有限责任公司的最低资本要求(即 2800 欧元)。在没有 EMI 牌照的情况下注册为电子货币机构的条件如下:
      • 电子货币机构只能提供一个封闭的电子货币发行和赎回系统;或提供汇款服务及支付工具发行服务。封闭系统意味着电子货币的账户持有人不能将电子货币从他们的账户转移到系统外的另一方。
      • 电子货币机构进行的商业活动的平均电子货币流通量不得超过 200 万欧元。
      • 电子货币持有者和支付服务用户必须是拉脱维亚居民。
      • 电子货币机构的董事会和法定地址必须在拉脱维亚。商业活动也必须在拉脱维亚境内进行。
      • 电子货币机构无意在拉脱维亚境外提供国际支付服务或电子货币相关服务。
    • 不需要 EMI 牌照的电子货币机构将被要求通过委员会注册并提交文件,例如商业计划、有关在机构中直接或间接合格持有人的信息、机构的程序促进防止洗钱和恐怖主义融资等所需的有效内部控制。
    • 一般来说,发行电子货币的公司如果不符合上述规定的条件,则必须申请 EMI 牌照。

    EMI牌照强制性要求

    拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照要求

    • 持牌电子货币机构的初始资本必须至少为 350,000 欧元。
    • 提供额外账户信息服务或支付发起服务的电子货币机构,必须为其专业民事责任投保。
    • 电子货币机构的董事会或理事会成员必须具有良好的声誉并具备相关技能和经验。
    • 在电子货币机构中直接或间接获得合格持股的个人也必须拥有完好的声誉。
    • 牌照机构的管理委员会和法定地址必须位于拉脱维亚共和国。
    • 虽然公司的业务活动不限于拉脱维亚,但机构开展的至少部分业务活动必须与拉脱维亚相关联。

    EMI牌照所需文件

    • 关联的文章
    • 行动计划
    • 商业计划书(必须至少三个财政年度)
    • 初始资本证明
    • 描述为保护支付服务用户和电子货币持有人的资金而采取的措施
    • 描述贵公司的风险管理和内部控制系统
    • 保持内部控制系统良好治理以避免洗钱和恐怖主义融资的业务协议
    • 描述注册、跟踪和限制访问支付数据的措施和方法
    • 收集机构运作相关数据的程序说明
    • 信息系统安全策略及安全控制措施说明
    • 有关在机构中有直接或间接资格持有人的信息
    • 董事会、理事会成员、重要股东和直接负责管理机构经营的人员情况

    获得拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照需要多长时间?

    • 在申请拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照之前,特加商务咨询将协助您 注册拉脱维亚公司 提供当地公司地址和当地公司秘书。通常,此过程大约需要 3周内.
    • 注册公司后,我们将为您的公司申请拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照(电子货币机构)。一般来说,您可以期望您的 EMI 牌照申请能够在 6 个月内顺利完成。每个申请都将单独审查,如果之前提供的信息缺失、不完整或不一致,金融和资本市场委员会可能会重新要求提供额外的支持文件或信息。
    • 获得拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照后,特加商务咨询将继续 开立企业银行账户 。您的企业银行账户可在大概 4 周内准备就绪。 4 周.
    • 因此,您可以期望在您的拉脱维亚电子货币机构开始运营并开具发票 8 months 左右开始运营并开具发票。

    如何在拉脱维亚申请 EMI 牌照?

    第 1 步:评估业务活动和牌照要求

    • 特加商务咨询需要了解预期的业务活动和公司结构,以就拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照是否最适合您的公司提供建议。
    • 因此,特加商务咨询将评估您的股东文件,为您提供初步的 KYC 牌照。
    • 如果贵公司需要 EMI 牌照,特加商务咨询将安排与金融和资本市场委员会的申请前会议,以评估贵公司是否有资格获得拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照。
    • 在会议期间,委员会将阐明在拉脱维亚获得 EMI 牌照的程序和要求。
    • 特加商务咨询将根据您提供的商业计划和文件协助准备向委员会介绍的介绍

    第 2 步:拉脱维亚公司注册

    • 在特加商务咨询注册您的公司之前,您需要提供一份强制性 KYC 文件清单。其中一些文件包括董事姓名和身份证明。 在拉脱维亚注册公司,您需要提供所需的 KYC 文件清单。其中一些文件包括董事姓名、公司决议和身份证明。
    • 根据所提供的文件,特加商务咨询将起草和公证组织章程大纲和章程、商业计划和其他公司成立文件。特加商务咨询将协助您确保按照要求准备以下关键信息:
      • 证明满足 350,000 欧元的资本要求
      • 具有每个相关任职者背景的组织结构
      • 将提供的每种支付服务类型的描述
      • 支付交易图
      • 支付市场分析
      • 目标细分市场描述
      • 营销活动和分销渠道
      • 在目标和压力情景下预测未来 3 年的季度预算计算
      • 关键假设(客户、交易数量、定价、融资来源等),包括相关说明
      • 反洗钱和风险合规
      • 技术系统风险合规
    • 特加商务咨询还将通过国家税务局 (SRS)的电子申报系统为您的公司注册增值税 (VAT) 。

    第 3 步:注册为电子货币机构

    • 虽然您无需注册为电子货币机构即可直接申请 EMI 牌照,但特加商务咨询建议您的公司在申请 EMI 牌照之前先注册为电子货币机构。
    • 这是因为注册电子货币机构所需的大部分文件也是申请 EMI 牌照所必需的。注册电子货币机构将使您能够在拉脱维亚境内开展业务并熟悉委员会规定的规则和条例。
    • 特加商务咨询将协助贵公司准备相关文件并在委员会注册为电子货币机构。

    第 4 步:牌照申请

    • 注册的电子货币机构只能在拉脱维亚境内运营和提供电子货币服务。要在拉脱维亚境外经营,您的公司将需要 EMI 牌照。
    • 因此,在您的公司成功注册为电子货币机构后,特加商务咨询将协助您准备在拉脱维亚申请 EMI 牌照所需的文件。所需文件包括:
      • 组织架构
      • 保护客户资金
      • 管理架构及内部控制制度
      • 外包服务和控制
      • 反洗钱/反恐融资政策
    • 如果提交的文件存在缺陷,委员会可以要求公司进行修改或提交补充文件。如有必要,特加商务咨询将进行必要的调整并提交修改后的文件。
    • 委员会将在所有相关文件提交后 3 个月内根据提交的文件决定是否颁发牌照。EMI 牌照将无限期发放。
    • 如果提交的信息不充分、不诚实或不能对机构进行明智和有效的管理,委员会可以选择不颁发牌照。特加商务咨询将就您的商业模式向您提供建议,并确保起草的程序和系统符合支付服务和电子货币法以及 AML/CFT 法规的要求。

    第5步:企业银行开户

    • 特加商务咨询将协助整合所需的公司文件,并在一家提供相关服务的信誉良好的银行开设企业银行账户,例如多币种账户、SEPA、IBAN 和 SWIFT。
    • 通常,董事和股东无需前往拉脱维亚开设企业银行账户。但是,如果需要旅行,我们将派代表陪同您参加银行会议。或者,我们的团队将与银行协商以进行电话会议或请求豁免。
    • 成功开立企业银行账户后,特加商务咨询会将网上银行令牌和访问代码快递到您的首选地址。

    第 6 步:年度会计和税务义务

    • 特加商务咨询的特许会计师团队将确保您新成立的电子货币机构继续符合拉脱维亚共和国 SRS 的规定。这包括为您提供每月簿记、编制财务报表和年度纳税申报表。

    年度报告

    • 在每年 1 月底之前,电子货币机构必须向委员会提交截至上一年 12 月 31 日在该机构持有合格股份的股东名单。
    • 还必须报告有关股东及其参与程度的信息,包括有表决权的股票数量或所持股本的百分比。
    • 如有必要,委员会可以要求提供有关机构运营和监管环境的额外报告。
    • 除了向 SRS 提交经审计的年度报告外还要求电子货币机构报告未偿还电子货币的总和,这将在报告年度的 12 月底完成。他们还必须公布报告年度内赎回的电子货币总额。

    现在联系我们 了解更多关于如何获得拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照以开展电子货币服务的信息。我们的专家团队将在接下来的 24 小时内回复。

    了解更多

    • Acquiring a payment license is an overwhelming process if you are unaware of the rules and regulations governing such type of license. Tetra Consultants’ team of professional experts along with project managing the incorporation of companies all over the globe, is also proficient in serving your licensing needs to ensure that you have a good legal standing in the market of the proposed jurisdiction. 
    • Our licensing experts are well versed with the process of acquiring other 离岸金融牌照 as well.

    常见问题

    什么是 EMI 牌照?

    • 电子货币机构发行电子货币需要 EMI 牌照。电子货币可以存储在客户的电子钱包、预付卡或支付账户中。根据获得的牌照,发行的电子货币可以在一个地区或国家内用于支付商品和服务,并转换为其他货币。拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照允许电子货币机构在欧盟 (EU) 内发行电子货币并提供电子货币相关服务。

    电子货币机构是银行吗?

    • 电子货币机构不是银行。但是,如果银行获得 EMI 牌照,它就可以充当电子货币机构。这将允许银行向客户发行电子货币并提供其他与电子货币相关的服务。
    • 与银行不同,电子货币机构不得向客户放贷或发行信用卡。银行的传统角色是放贷,这包括提供信贷产品,如抵押贷款、债券、商业贷款等。这些服务是电子货币机构无法提供的。

    可通过拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照提供哪些服务?

    • 拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照允许您发行电子货币、提供支付服务和其他与电子货币相关的服务并促进支付系统的运行。持有拉脱维亚 EMI 牌照的电子货币机构可以在拉脱维亚境内运营或将其业务扩展到拉脱维亚以外的欧盟国家。

    什么是电子货币?

    • 电子货币通常被定义为存储在包含货币价值的计算机系统或技术设备中的电子货币。它们通常存储在手机或卡中,用于在购买商品和服务期间进行付款。由于电子货币通常由法定货币支持,因此它不同于基于区块链技术的加密货币。电子货币的常见示例包括借记卡发行的电子货币和 PayPal 支付。

    拉脱维亚的支付机构和电子货币机构有什么区别?

    • 支付机构与电子货币机构的主要区别在于,电子货币机构除了提供支付服务外,还可以发行货币。由于电子货币机构能够发行电子货币,客户在电子货币机构中的资金可以在电子钱包等客户的支付账户中存储更长的时间。这对于支付机构中的支付账户是不可能的。

    在拉脱维亚注册为 EMI 和申请 EMI 牌照有什么区别?

    • 在拉脱维亚注册为 EMI 仅允许您在拉脱维亚担任支付服务提供商或电子货币相关服务的提供商。不允许在国外提供任何电子货币或国际支付服务。但是,如果您的企业拥有 EMI 牌照,它将被授权在国内外提供与电子货币有关的服务。该牌照将适用于任何属于欧盟的国家,例如爱沙尼亚或立陶宛。






      关注我们

      地址

      22 Sin Ming Lane #06-76 Midview City, Singapore 573969

      ©2010-2023 Tetra Global Consultants. All rights reserved.

      • 联系我们

        联系我们

      • WhatsApp

Latvia EMI license

Tetra Consultants assists our international clients to obtain Latvia EMI License which is needed for electric money service businesses. Our service package includes Latvia company registration, business account opening, license application including advisory services, compliance review, and preparation of business plans and internal policies.

https://www.tetraconsultants.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/ff0c7386e67e7d715d15d21b3dd53c04.1q80fmjpgcropentropycstinysrgbw1080fitmaxixideyjhchbfawqiojm4otczfq.jpg

Contact Us

Latvia EMI license (Electronic Money Institution)

A Latvia EMI license (Electronic Money Institution) is easy to secure with Tetra Consultants’ assistance.

Every credit institution that issues electronic money in Latvia can either register as an electronic money institution or obtain an EMI license. Registering as an electronic money institution will allow your company to conduct electronic money services within Latvia. If you wish to provide electronic money services such as provision of cash deposit and withdrawal services outside of Latvia and within the European Economic Area (EEA), you will have to procure an EMI license.

Introduction to Latvia EMI license

  • In 2020, non-cash payments accounted for EUR 181 billion of payments in Latvia. The total value of non-cash payments is on the rise, despite decrease in total number of payments made. This highlights the potential of electronic money in Latvia.
  • All electronic market institutions with a Latvia EMI license are regulated by the Financial and Capital Market Commission and governed by the provisions in the Law on Payment Services and Electronic Money.
  • Regulations of electronic money institutions in Latvia are also in compliance with the EU electronic money directive (EMD).
  • Only electronic market institutions licensed in Latvia or an EU member are allowed to issue electronic money. This is to prevent the circulation of electronic money that has not been issued in accordance with the laws and regulations set out by the Financial and Capital Market Commission.
  • Tetra Consultants recommends getting a Latvia EMI license if you wish to provide e-money services to the European market.

When will you require a Latvia EMI license?

  • Any company that issues or wishes to issue electronic money will need to apply for an Electronic Money Institution (EMI) license.
    • Stores monetary value electronically (e.g. through a smart card, computer),
    • Is represented by a claim on the issuer.
    • Is retrieved by the electronic money holder to make payments,
    • Can be used to pay for goods and services sold by a natural or legal person who is not the electronic money issuer.
  • Generally, companies that issue e-money are required to obtain an EMI license from the Financial and Capital Market Commission. A Latvia EMI license will allow an electronic money institution to perform the following activities:
    • Issue electronic money
    • Provide payment services
    • Provide services related to the issuing of electronic money
    • Facilitate the operation of payment systems
    • Conduct other business activities in accordance with the relevant laws and regulations
  • However, there are certain instances where a company may not need an EMI license to provide e-money services. Instead, the company can choose to acquire the status of a registered electronic money institution through the Financial and Capital Market Commission. A registered electronic money institution will only be subjected to the minimum capital requirement of a limited liability company (i.e. EUR 2800). The conditions to register as an electronic money institution without an EMI license are as follow:
    • The electronic money institution can only provide a closed system for issuing and redeeming electronic money; or offer a money remittance service and a payment instrument issuing service. A closed system means that account holders of e-money cannot transfer e-money from their accounts to another party outside of the system.
    • The average amount of electronic money circulated for a commercial activity undertaken by the electronic money institution must not exceed EUR 2 million.
    • Electronic money holders and payment service users must be residents of Latvia.
    • The Board of Director and legal address of the electronic money institution must be in Latvia. Business activities must also be conducted within Latvia.
    • The electronic money institution has no intentions to provide international payment services or electronic money related services outside of Latvia.
  • An electronic money institution that does not require an EMI license will be required to register through the Commission and submit documents such as a business plan, information regarding the persons that have a direct or indirect qualifying hold in the institution, the procedures of the institution to facilitate effective internal control required for the prevention of money laundering and terrorism financing, etc.
  • Generally, a company that issues electronic money will have to apply for an EMI license if they do not meet the stipulated conditions above.

Mandatory requirements for EMI license

Latvia-EMI-license-requirements

  • A licensed electronic money institution must have a minimum initial capital of EUR 350,000.
  • Electronic money institution that provides additional account information service or payment initiation service must insure its professional civil liabilities.
  • Members of the Board or council of the electronic money institution must have an untarnished reputation and be equipped with the relevant skills and experience.
  • Individuals who have acquired a qualifying holding directly or indirectly in the electronic money institution must also have an untarnished reputation.
  • The management board and legal address of the licensed institution must be located in the Republic of Latvia.
  • Although the company’s business activities are not limited to Latvia, at least part of the business activities conducted by the institution must be linked to Latvia.

Documents required for EMI license

  • Articles of Association
  • A programme of operations
  • A business plan (must be for at least three financial years)
  • Proof of initial capital
  • Description of measures implemented to safeguard the money of payment service users and electronic money holders
  • Description of your business’ systems for managing risk and internal control
  • Protocol of the business to maintain good governance of the internal control system to avoid money laundering and terrorism financing
  • Description of the measures and methods to register, keep track of and restrict access to payment data
  • Description of the procedure to collect relevant data on the operation of the institution
  • Description of the information system security policy and security control measures
  • Information regarding the persons that have a direct or indirect qualifying hold in the institution
  • Information regarding members in the management board and council, important shareholders and the personnel directly responsible for the management of the operation of the institution

How long to secure a Latvia EMI license?

  • Before applying for Latvia EMI license, Tetra Consultants will assist you in registering a Latvia company by providing a local company address and local company secretary. Typically, this process should take approximately 3 weeks.
  • Upon registering the company, we will proceed to apply for a Latvia EMI license (Electronic Money Institution) for your company. Generally, you can expect your EMI license application to take around 6 months. Each application will be reviewed individually, and the Financial and Capital Market Commission may revert asking for additional supporting documents or information if the information previously provided is missing, incomplete, or inconsistent.
  • Once a Latvia EMI license has been procured, Tetra Consultants will proceed to open a corporate bank account with a reputable local or international bank. You can expect your corporate bank account to be ready in 4 weeks.
  • Consequently, you can expect to start operations and issue invoices with your Latvia electronic money institution within 8 months upon engaging Tetra Consultants.

How to apply for an EMI license in Latvia?

Step 1: Assessment of business activity and license requirements

  • Tetra Consultants needs to understand the intended business activity and corporate structure to advise on whether Latvia EMI license is the most suitable for your company.
  • As such, Tetra Consultants will assess your shareholder documents to give you a preliminary KYC clearance.
  • If your company needs an EMI license, Tetra Consultants will arrange for a pre-application meeting with the Financial and Capital Market Commission to assess your company’s eligibility for a Latvia EMI license.
  • During the meeting, the Commission will clarify the procedure and requirements for procuring an EMI license in Latvia.
  • Tetra Consultants will assist with the preparation of an introductory presentation to the Commission, based on the business plan and documents you provide.

Step 2: Latvia company registration

  • Before Tetra Consultants can register company in Latvia, you are required to provide a list of required KYC documents. Some of these documents include the names of directors, company’s resolution and identification proof.
  • Based on the documents provided, Tetra Consultants will draft and notarize the Memorandum and Articles of Association, business plan and other incorporation documents. Tetra Consultants will assist you in ensuring the following key information are prepared as per requirement:
    • Proof that capital requirement of EUR 350,000 is met
    • Organizational structure with background of each relevant office holder
    • Description of each type of payment services to be provided
    • Payment transaction diagram
    • Payment market analysis
    • Targeted market segment description
    • Marketing activities and distribution channels
    • Forecast quarterly budget calculations for the next 3 years under target and stress scenarios
    • Key assumptions (client, transaction numbers, pricing, financing sources, etc.) including the relevant explanations
    • AML and risk compliance
    • Technical system risk compliance
  • After preparing the relevant documents, Tetra Consultants will register your company through the e-service in Latvia Commercial Register.
  • Tetra Consultants will also register your company for Value-Added Tax (VAT) through the State Revenue Service (SRS) Electronic Declaration System.

Step 3: Registration as an Electronic Money Institution

  • Although you can apply directly for an EMI license without registering as an electronic money institution, Tetra Consultants recommends that your company registers as an electronic money institution before applying for an EMI license.
  • This is because most of the documents needed to register an electronic money institution are also required for the application of an EMI license. Registering an electronic money institution will allow you to start operations within Latvia and familiarise with the rules and regulations stipulated by the Commission.
  • Tetra Consultants will assist your company in preparing the relevant documents and registering as an electronic money institution with the Commission.

Step 4: License application

  • A registered electronic money institution can only operate and provide e-money services within Latvia. To operate outside Latvia, your company will need an EMI license.
  • As such, Tetra Consultants will assist you in preparing the documents required for application of an EMI license in Latvia after your company has successfully registered as an electronic money institution. Documents required include:
    • Organizational structure
    • Protection of customer fund
    • Management structure and internal control system
    • Outsourcing services and control
    • AML/CTF policy
  • The Commission may request the company to make amendments or submit additional documents if there are deficiencies in the documents submitted. Tetra Consultants will make the required adjustments and submit the amended documents, if necessary.
  • The Commission will decide whether to issue a license based on the documents submitted within 3 months after all relevant documents have been submitted. The EMI license will be issued for an indefinite period.
  • The Commission may choose not to issue a license if the information submitted is insufficient, dishonest or does not provide for sensible and effective administration of the institution. Tetra Consultants will advise you on your business model and make sure that the procedures and systems drafted are aligned with the requirements of the Law on Payment Services and Electronic Money and AML/CFT regulations.

Step 5: Corporate bank account opening

  • Tetra Consultants will assist in consolidating the required corporate documents and opening a corporate bank account with a reputable bank that provides the relevant services such as multi-currency accounts, SEPA, IBAN and SWIFT.
  • Typically, directors and shareholders are not required to travel to Latvia to open the corporate bank account. However, if travel is required, we will have a representative accompany you to the bank meeting. Alternatively, our team will negotiate with the banks to conduct a conference call instead or to request for a waiver.
  • Once the bank account has been successfully opened, Tetra Consultants will courier the internet banking token and access codes to your preferred address.

Step 6: Annual accounting and tax obligations

  • Tetra Consultants’ team of Chartered Accountants will ensure that your newly established electronic money institution continues to meet regulatory laws set by the SRS of the Republic of Latvia. This includes providing you with monthly bookkeeping, preparation of financial statements and annual tax return filings.

Annual reporting

  • By the end of January of each year, an electronic money institution must submit to the Commission a list of shareholders who had qualifying holding in the institution as of 31 December of the previous year.
  • Information about the shareholders and their extent of involvement in terms of number of voting stock or percentage of equity capital held must also be reported.
  • The Commission can request for additional reports on the operations of the institution and regulatory environment, if deemed necessary.
  • Besides submitting an audited annual report to the SRS of the Republic of Latvia, electronic money institutions are also required to report the sum of outstanding electronic money, which will be done on the end of December of the reporting year. They will also have to announce the sum of electronic money redeemed in the reporting year.

Contact us to find out more about how to secure Latvia EMI license to conduct electronic money services. Our team of experts will revert within the next 24 hours.

FAQ

What is an EMI license?

  • An EMI license is required for an electronic money institution to issue e-money. The e-money can be stored in the client’s e-wallet, prepaid card or payment account. Depending on the license obtained, the e-money issued can be used within a region or country to pay for goods and services and converted to other currencies. A Latvia EMI license allows the electronic money institution to issue e-money and provide e-money related services within the European Union (EU).

Is an electronic money institution a bank?

  • An electronic money institution is not a bank. However, a bank can act as an electronic money institution if it procures an EMI license. This will allow the bank to issue e-money to clients and provide other e-money related services.
  • Unlike banks, electronic money institutions are not allowed to lend money to clients or issue credit cards. The traditional role of the bank is to lend money, and this includes providing credit products such as mortgages, bonds, business loans, etc. These services cannot be provided by an electronic money institution.

What services can you provide with a Latvia EMI license?

  • A Latvia EMI license allows you to issue electronic money, provide payment services and other services related to electronic money and facilitate the operation of payment systems. An electronic money institution that holds a Latvia EMI license can operate within Latvia or expand their operations outside of Latvia to countries in the EU.

What constitutes e-money?

  • E-money is commonly defined as electronic money stored in a computer system or technical device that contains a monetary value. They are typically stored in a phone or card and are used to make payments during the purchase of goods and services. Since e-money is usually backed by fiat money, it is different from cryptocurrency that is based on blockchain technology. Common examples of e-money include electronic money issued by debit cards and PayPal payments.

What is the difference between a payment institution and an electronic money institution in Latvia?

  • The main difference between a payment institution and electronic money institution is that an electronic money institution can issue money in addition to providing payment services. Since an electronic money institution is able to issue electronic money, clients’ fund in an electronic money institution can be stored for a longer period of time in the client’s payment accounts such as e-wallets. This is not possible for payment accounts in a payment institution.

What is the difference between registering as an EMI and applying for an EMI license in Latvia?

  • Registering as an EMI in Latvia will only allow you to act as a payment service provider or provider of e-money related services within Latvia. Offering any electronic money or international payment service outside of the country will not be permitted. However, if your business possess an EMI license, it will be authorized to offer services pertaining to electronic money both within and outside of the country. The license will be valid for use in any nation that is a part of the European Union such as Estonia or Lithuania.

Follow us on

Address

22 Sin Ming Lane #06-76 Midview City, Singapore 573969

©2010-2021 Tetra Global Consultants. All rights reserved.